Lent 2018

St Ephraim in prayer

Pascha is early this year and so Lent is rapidly approaching; this Sunday, the 28th of January, marks the Sunday of the Publican of the Pharisee which is just two weeks before the beginning of the Great Fast.

As I have done in previous years, the Icons of Lent page has been updated with this year’s dates. Hopefully the articles within will provide useful. May our Lent be fruitful and productive, ending in the glorious celebration of the Resurrection of Our Lord Jesus Christ!

O Lord and Master of my life,
Grant me not a spirit of sloth, despondency and lust for power;
But rather grant me a spirit of chastity, humility, patience and love.
O Lord and God: grant me to see my own faults
And not to condemn my brother
For blessed art Thou unto the ages of ages,
Amen

– Prayer of St Ephraim the Syrian

+++++

This entry was posted in News, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Lent 2018

  1. Jacob says:

    I just found your blog and it is a great source of information for people learning about Orthodoxy such as myself. Thank you for your efforts and may God bless you!

Leave a comment